At California College of Music, our faculty strikes a harmonious balance between academic scholarship and professional experience in the popular music industry. Our esteemed faculty members hold bachelor’s, master’s, and doctorate degrees from such prestigious music institutions as CalArts, Juilliard, Berklee, Musicians Institute, UT Austin, UNT, Morehouse, CSUN, CSULA, UCSB, and UCLA. Legendary artists our faculty members have worked with include Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder, Quincy Jones, Aretha Franklin, Celine Dion, Rod Stewart, Whitney Houston, Michael Buble, Josh Groban, Christina Aguilera, Weezer, Frankie Valli, Willie Nelson, B.B. King, Steelheart, Cirque du Soleil, and many more.

Click on a faculty member’s photo to learn more about his/her background.


Moana Avvenenti

Moana Avvenenti, B.A.
Voice, Songwriting, Bass

David Bawiec

David Bawiec, B.M.
Music Technology Department Chair

Alessandro Bertoni

Alessandro Bertoni
Piano Program Chair

Daniel Brummel

Daniel Brummel, M.M.
Dean & Chief Academic Officer

Carlos Campos - 01

Carlos Campos, M.M.
Piano, Ear Training, Improvisation

Sherri Canon

Dr. Sherri Canon, Ph.D.
Popular Music History


Kevin Dorsey

Kevin Dorsey, B.A.
Voice, Artist Development

Byron Fry

Byron Fry

Daniel Gonzalez

Daniel Gonzalez, B.M.
Music Technology, Production

Bobby Halvorson

Bobby Halvorson, D.M.A.
Theory, Voice, Choir, Composition

Robert Holliday

Robert Holliday, M.F.A.
Theory, Piano, Composition


Nick Kellie

Nick Kellie

Chris Kapica

Chris Kapica, M.M.
Assistant Director of Education

Karen Kitterman

Karen Kitterman, B.A.
Voice Program Chair

Andre LaFosse

Andre LaFosse, B.F.A.
Theory, Guitar, Improvisation

Carol De Leon

Carol De Leon, M.M.
Voice, Artist Development

Craig Pilo

Craig Pilo, B.M.
Drum Program Chair



Benjamin Shepherd 01Benjamin Shepherd, B.F.A.


George 01

George Wiederkehr, M.A.
Studio Recording, Music Production

Ray Yslas

Ray Yslas
Drums, Percussion